8

A poster asks a question that qualifies for closing. For example, take a question dealing with an unsupported distribution.

I vote to close as off-topic and mine is the first vote.

Does the questioner immediately know that a vote to close has been cast with the reason

"This is not about Ubuntu. Questions about other Linux distributions can be asked on Unix & Linux, those about Windows on Super User, those about Apple products on Ask Different and generic programming questions on Stack Overflow."

that ultimately appears?

My question is not about the poster discovering my "identity". It's about wanting to know if I'm adding any value by adding a comment of my own such as:

This site offers support only for official flavors of Ubuntu. XXX is off-topic here but questions about it are welcome at https://unix.stackexchange.com.

I feel that a comment such I've posted above would be superfluous if the questioner can immediately see the official comment.

  • Lets find. I've voted to close your question. Do you see anything? – Kulfy May 10 at 10:34
  • @Kulfy haha, nice! – dessert May 10 at 10:49
  • @dessert Doubt would be cleared if tried personally :) – Kulfy May 10 at 11:08
  • @Kulfy was it this: askubuntu.com/questions/1139732/…? All I see is close(1) with no explanation. So our adding comments would be useful as Fabby points out. – Justice for Monica May 10 at 11:49
  • 1
    Indeed. Retracted my close vote :) – Kulfy May 10 at 11:52
6

They will not see anything until 5 people agree (or a gold badge user / mod uses their gold hammer / Orbital cannon).

So yes, you're adding value, but I'd use:

This site offers support only for [official flavours of Ubuntu](https://www.ubuntu.com/download/flavours). XXX is off-topic here but welcomed at [unix.se], a sister site of [ubuntu.se].

Which should expand to:

This site offers support only for official flavours of Ubuntu. XXX is off-topic here but welcomed at Unix & Linux, a sister site of Ask Ubuntu

  • 1
    Are you sure they will not see anything? When voting to close as duplicate the OP actually sees a message before the voting has passed. The message will something similar to "This question may have an answer here [link to another question]" and only they will see it. Has this been changed or is it different for off-topic votes? But I do agree a message will add value whether they see a message or not. – Dan May 10 at 11:04
  • 2
    I'd suggest adding ElementaryOS - Stack Exchange in comments for questions specifically for Elementary OS. Lets help the site to grow :-) – Kulfy May 10 at 11:06
  • 1
    @Dan Duplicate is different... – Fabby May 10 at 11:32
  • 1
    I'll now add to and modify my Texpander list of boilerplate comments! – Justice for Monica May 10 at 11:51
  • When users have 250 reputations, they have a privilege to view close votes on their own posts. However, it's correct that they're not notified at all (except from the comment when voting to close as a dupe) – Andrew T. May 11 at 7:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .