I just ran across this user name which is a clear advertisement for a service...

Is this allowed here on AU?

Yes, I found this already...

  • 1
    The user has since changed their name (as of a few minutes ago, I guess). The old username (as brought up in chat) was "make-me-a-website.net".
    – Seth
    Jan 18, 2016 at 20:56
  • 5
    FWIW my personal opinion is "meh".
    – Seth
    Jan 18, 2016 at 20:56

1 Answer 1


Using a domain name as your nick won't actually link anybody anywhere other than your profile. It won't attract Google rank or any other benefit.

And in this case it looks like they've already change it by their own volition.

  • 10
    Well, I learned a new word today. And it wasn't of my own volition!
    – Seth
    Jan 18, 2016 at 20:58
  • 10
    First time I ever had a "You can only accept an answer in 10 minutes"... Good Heavens you're fast! ;-)
    – Fabby
    Jan 18, 2016 at 21:00
  • Not sure if these names are allowed or not my self, based on this question alone it may be fine, but I found this guy today with his website as a name, I will just leave it here for you to act on, or not, as I am not sure what to do with it askubuntu.com/users/395258/freesoftwareservers
    – Mark Kirby
    Jan 30, 2016 at 11:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .