When reviewing in the close vote queue I almost always start by clicking on the close button and then canceling that window, to see how the votes are standing on the question.
Because if I'm in the first 3 votes, I take more time to analyze the question. If there are already 4 votes for the same close reason I don't do such a "deep scan".
And if there are votes to close with different reasons, it is not unusual for me to skip that question: Because if my close reason will be in minority, but the question will be eventually closed, my nick will show up on the closed question banner as if I close voted the question with that specific majority reason, whereas I didn't do that, and I don't want the system to list my name for something I didn't know. (That could be considered a bug too, but I don't really care about this, since I can avoid it.) So I skip in these situations.
I didn't review for a week or so, today I had time to do some, and on the third question I got an audit question, which I started to handle as always: First clicking on the close button... To my surprise it immediately said that I failed the audit. ??? I didn't close voted anything, just clicked the close vote button, from where I should be able to back up.
This must be a bug, this can't be by design, or if it is, why is it so?