Tonight when visiting askubuntu.com I encountered a chat window that asked me whether I wanted to chat with an expert. Strangely it had a hint that a transcript of this session would be available (posting the link here is not allowed, but it was from adviza.stackexchange.com)

I have no idea, what this ad is supposed to be for, clearly it was a bot talking. Whatever it's for, or does, I think that kind of advertisement has no place on this site. What do you think?

  • 2
    Related on MSO: What is “chat with an expert”? Commented Apr 1, 2013 at 0:59
  • fun game: Copy/paste the response from the bot and see how long it takes for it to get stuck in an infinite loop. Challenge: Who can get the largest loop?
    – Nil
    Commented Apr 3, 2013 at 2:33

1 Answer 1


April fool day wishes :p

It is an april fool message from stack exchange, Enjoy ;)

  • Anyone else immediately click "Never" when they saw the pop up?
    – Nil
    Commented Apr 3, 2013 at 2:11

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .