This is similar to this proposal on MSO, but happens at AskUbuntu. As a double treat, it's the same message twice AND the bounty was already awarded!
Could this be prevented?
How is this a "bug"? Both messages were sent to you and were valid at the appropriate time.
If you want them collapsed, that's a feature request. And not a really big deal, is it?